Tintern Abbey

Tintern Abbey

A Cistercian abbey founded by William the Earl Marshal in 1200 and named after Tintern in Wales.  The remains consist of nave, chancel, tower, chapel and cloister.  It was partly converted into living quarters after 1541, and further adapted over the centuries.  The Abbey was occupied by the Colclough family from the 16th Century until the 1960’s.

Visitors can also enjoy the Tintern Tea-Rooms on site.

Check www.heritageireland.ie for the most up-to-date information about Tintern Abbey. 

Tintern Abbey is managed by the Office of Public Works (OPW).


*The map below shows the entrance gate to the grounds of Tintern Abbey.


TIntern Abbey is less than an hour from Waterford City and just 75 minutes from Kilkenny City.

Three Sisters 2020

Opening Times: 
24th March to 1st November, Open Daily: 10am to 5pm (Last admissions at 4.15pm)